Suppose a headline says an Abu Dhabi fund holds about $490 million of bitcoin. It may be accurate and still tell you very little. "Sovereign" can mean a wealth fund, a state pension scheme, a state-owned company or a government's own reserve. "Holds bitcoin" can mean an ETF share, a listed stock, a stake in a private firm or the coins themselves. This post sorts the public evidence by what each kind of record can and cannot show. It is a reading guide, not investment advice.

Four questions before you believe a headline

Ask which legal entity filed, which instrument it holds, as of what date, and what that filing is built to leave out. Most confusion in this subject comes from skipping one of the four. The Abu Dhabi piece covers the regulatory setting and the headline positions; this one is about how to read the records themselves.

What a Form 13F shows, and what it omits

Form 13F is filed with the US Securities and Exchange Commission by institutional investment managers that exercise investment discretion over $100 million or more in Section 13(f) securities, within 45 days of each quarter-end. The SEC staff's FAQ says the list covers US exchange-traded stocks, shares of closed-end funds and ETFs, and certain convertible debt, equity options and warrants. Short positions and securities that trade on non-US exchanges are not reported, and open-end funds are not on the list. The table is a snapshot of the last day of the quarter, published weeks later.

Three things follow. Shares of a US spot bitcoin ETF appear; bitcoin held directly does not. Tokens, interests in private funds, stakes in private companies and foreign-listed products do not appear either. And a manager can ask the SEC for confidential treatment of some positions, so even the table is not guaranteed to be complete.

Silence is therefore not evidence of absence. The Public Investment Fund's 13F for 30 June 2026, filed on 14 August 2026, lists five positions, none of them a crypto product. That says nothing about what else the fund holds. The Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, the Qatar Investment Authority and GIC have no Form 13F anywhere in their EDGAR filing histories. What they do file are Schedule 13D and 13G reports and Form 4s, which concern stakes in individual companies, a different question.

The name on a filing is also a legal vehicle, not a map of ownership. The Abu Dhabi Investment Council's report of 13 August 2026 names Al Warda Investments and Al Mehwar Commercial Investments as other included managers. Al Warda filed its own full 13F for 31 December 2025, then switched to a notice for the next two quarters, the form a manager files when its holdings are reported on someone else's 13F. Mubadala's report of 14 August 2026 is a combination report, meaning some of its holdings are listed on another manager's filing, here China-UAE Investment Cooperation Fund, L.P. None of these forms says who ultimately owns what.

Reading one table: Mubadala

Mubadala Investment Co PJSC filed its 30 June 2026 report on 14 August 2026. The table has 72 entries worth $34,771,171,317. One line, GlobalFoundries at $32,928,873,232, is roughly 95% of that by value, so a single industrial holding sits in the same table as the bitcoin ETF. The iShares Bitcoin Trust line is 14,721,917 shares worth $490,092,617.

The filing history adds something a single quarter cannot. Across Mubadala's last four reports, the share count was 8,726,972 at 30 September 2025, 12,702,323 at 31 December 2025, 14,721,917 at 31 March 2026 and 14,721,917 again at 30 June 2026. The reported value fell from $565,616,051 to $490,092,617 between the last two with no change in the share count, so the fall reflects the price, not a change in the reported position.

Scale matters too. Mubadala reported assets under management of AED 1.4 trillion, or $385 billion, at the end of 2025, in a release of 9 April 2026. The two figures are six months apart, so treat the comparison as an order of magnitude only: the ETF line is well under 0.2% of that total. The Abu Dhabi Investment Council's filing for 30 June 2026 has 26 entries worth $714,613,556, including 8,218,712 iShares Bitcoin Trust shares at $273,600,922, the same share count Al Warda reported at 31 December 2025.

State pension funds: Michigan and Wisconsin

A pension fund answers to beneficiaries and a state statute, and its 13F looks different. The State of Michigan Retirement System's report for 30 June 2026, filed on 30 July 2026, lists 300,000 shares of the ARK 21Shares Bitcoin ETF ($5,838,000), 37,418 shares of the Grayscale Bitcoin Trust ETF ($1,703,267) and 460,000 shares of the Grayscale Ethereum Staking ETF ($5,869,600), in a table of 960 entries worth about $22.6 billion. It also lists Coinbase and Strategy shares.

The State of Wisconsin Investment Board is the counter-example. Its filing of 14 February 2025 showed 6,060,351 iShares Bitcoin Trust shares worth $321,501,621 at 31 December 2024. Its filing of 15 May 2025 showed none at 31 March 2025, and its 14 August 2026 filing lists no spot bitcoin ETF. It does list 135,369 Strategy Class A shares ($11,767,627), 113,005 Coinbase shares ($16,520,201) and convertible note positions in both companies. A 13F cannot say whether the ETF shares were sold or moved, when in the quarter, or why.

Indirect exposure: Norway's fund

Norges Bank's 13F for 30 June 2026, filed on 12 August 2026, has 1,617 entries. Among them: Strategy Class A (3,979,476 shares, $345,935,849), Coinbase (2,790,018 shares, $407,872,731), Block (7,797,430 shares, $592,604,680), Circle (2,105,378 shares, $131,859,824), Bitmine (6,151,062 shares, $81,870,635) and Galaxy Digital (2,015,015 shares, $55,090,510). There is no bitcoin ETF in the table.

The fund's investment strategy page says the Ministry of Finance mandate sets how much may go into four asset classes: equities, bonds, unlisted real estate and unlisted renewable energy infrastructure. Crypto assets are not among them. Its half-year results put the fund at 22,683 billion kroner at 30 June 2026, 72.1% of it in equities.

Research firm K33 turns such holdings into a bitcoin-equivalent figure. Reported by The Block on 14 August 2026, its estimate was 11,549 BTC at the end of the first half of 2026, 86% of it through Strategy, counting companies from Strategy and Coinbase to Block and Tesla. K33 said the exposure was in all likelihood not a deliberate measure by the fund but a consequence of its broadly diversified portfolio. That is an analyst's estimate, not an NBIM disclosure. The Block also gives NBIM's Strategy position as $357.3 million, against $345,935,849 in the 13F; this post has not reconciled the two.

The conceptual point is more useful than any number. A share in a company that owns bitcoin is a claim on that company, with its debt, its operating costs and its other businesses. Coinbase, Block and Tesla are far more than bitcoin vehicles. The treasury-company piece takes up that instrument on its own. For the fund, this is equity exposure, not a holding of the asset.

Stakes in companies, which a 13F cannot see

Some sovereign involvement takes the form of equity in private businesses. On 11 June 2026, Digital Asset, the company behind the Canton Network, announced a $355 million round led by a16z crypto, and its release names the Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, through a wholly owned subsidiary, among the participants. On 12 March 2025, CoinDesk reported that Binance said Abu Dhabi-based investment firm MGX had invested $2 billion, paid in stablecoins, without specifying which.

These are stakes in businesses, not holdings of tokens, and neither would appear in a 13F. Whether MGX counts as a sovereign investor turns on its ownership, which the CoinDesk report does not describe, and that is exactly the label a headline needs checking for.

A government reserve is a different animal

A fund invests for a return under a mandate. A government reserve is an account. Executive Order 14233, signed on 6 March 2025, directs the US Treasury to establish a Strategic Bitcoin Reserve capitalised with bitcoin it holds that was finally forfeited in criminal or civil proceedings. Bitcoin deposited there is not to be sold, save for exceptions the order lists, such as returning assets to victims of crime. Any strategy for acquiring more must be budget neutral and impose no incremental cost on taxpayers. The order is subject to the availability of appropriations and creates no enforceable rights. It is in force as an executive order; it is not a statute.

Texas took a different route: its state government bought exposure. A spokesman for the Texas Comptroller told CoinDesk, which reported it on 25 November 2025, that a $5 million purchase of the iShares Bitcoin Trust was a placeholder while the state worked toward a contract with a custodian. On 28 May 2026 the comptroller named the reserve's advisory committee, created under Senate Bill 21 of the 89th Legislature, to advise on valuing digital assets, risk policy, asset management and custody. The same release announced a request for proposals for a firm to provide custody and liquidity services for the reserve.

So the labels cover different things: a state investment fund (Mubadala, Norges Bank), a state pension scheme (Michigan, Wisconsin) and a government reserve (the US federal order, Texas). A state-owned company is a fourth case: a commercial company whose shares the state owns, with its own accounts and no beneficiary mandate. The lines blur in practice. Mubadala and the Abu Dhabi Investment Council both file under names carrying PJSC, a company form, so the entity type has to be read from the registration and the fund's own documents, not the headline noun.

What a sovereign allocation typically needs

The requirements are visible in the examples. First, a mandate that permits the asset: the asset classes named in Norway's mandate do not include crypto. Second, custody: Texas began with an ETF as a placeholder while it worked toward a custody contract, and the custody piece takes up who holds the keys. Third, governance for valuation and risk, which Texas has given an advisory committee to advise on. On the vehicle question, the ETF plumbing piece explains what sits behind the ticker, and the allocation piece covers how institutions size a position.

What public data cannot tell you

  • Positions between quarter-ends, and the intent behind a change.
  • Bitcoin, tokens and other assets held directly, in custody or through non-US products.
  • Interests in private funds and companies, unless the investee announces them.
  • Any position under confidential treatment.
  • The ultimate owner behind a named vehicle.
  • Hedges and derivative overlays, since short positions are not reported.
  • Whether a fund treats a holding as strategic, tactical or incidental.

Read a sovereign crypto headline as a claim about one entity, one instrument and one date. If the source is a 13F, everything else is unknown.